Question about genes

What does it mean,
when doctors find a gene in someone that science have never seen before.
And, if it’s in the mother, does the child have it too?
Perhaps the whole family?

It this usual, to find an unknown gene?

Tech Tags:

3 Responses to “Question about genes”


  1. 1 Mrdeadworry October 23, 2006 at 12:18 am

    It is not all that uncommon for new genes to be found but it is in the context of finding out what the expression of that gene does. How the gene is passed on is determined by wether or not the gene is recessive or dominant. In a recessive it is usally customary for both parents to have the gene and that gene shows up in the offspring. If only one has it then it will not show in the offspring. If it is a dominate gene and only one parent has that gene it will still express itself. This is a very simplistict explanation. You could look it up on wikipedia here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gene_expression

  2. 2 bodicea October 23, 2006 at 3:56 am

    Usually, the child would most likely have it as well. Maybe not the whole family tho. The father might not have it.

    Hopefully it’s nothing bad. Hopefully it’s got superpowers or something.

  3. 3 solelyshe October 23, 2006 at 11:36 am

    Great explanation mrdeadworry. Will look it up. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Hi and welcome. This is my journal where I can find a peace of mind. Perhaps teach myself something. I escape here to unwind, cry or complain, or share my joy. Hope you enjoy your stay.

The current mood of mixedpearl at www.imood.com

She

A 27 year old womans attempt to understand herself and the rest of the world. Difficult to explain myself with only a few words, you decide from the words in my journal. I suppose I am trying to find my strength through this so I think I am a bit confused, I'm quite emotional and very loving though I at times may seem very cold.

Additional Info

A rather new blog but not a new blogger. From Swedish decent, this blog will contain both languages.
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Keep my net clean.org

map

Donate

Blog Stats

  • 176,682 hits

©opyright Information

Most photos and poetry may not be copied. If you are unsure please do ask me before redistributing.

