A Biblical Question.

Pondering on Religion again. I suppose I Should know but I Don’t, with that said (I turn to you); Does it say anywhere in The Bible WHICH religion (if any) is the Right religion? Does it say “The People” have made religion up or is any one religion the one our Father Himself conducts. I suppose I need to wait with my interpretation until I know but I was thinking that Perhaps I have read something about Christianity and that it is the “correct” one or that the God of the Bible condemns religions meaning that He does not represent one. ???

I am rather clueless when it comes to religions, as noticeable. Shall open my bible in shame.

6 Responses to “A Biblical Question.”


  1. 1 Tingting Rimart November 3, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Same here.Not much of a religious person (well, used to be).

    Here in the Philippines, you will see different religious groups take it to the street. Yeah, they debate about it, on which religion is “correct”. Pretty pathetic, but that just the way it is here.

    Religion does save us. Loving God is loving our fellowmen…Oh I better stop now…I sound preachy..LOL!

  2. 2 diana November 3, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    Hi,

    the Bible (James 1.27) says this about religion:
    “Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”
    Quoted from the English Standard Version.

    Keeping oneself unstained from the world is a GIVEN impossibility. But there is one who did keep himself unstained, and he is Christ. So Christ’s life was the religion which is pure and undefiled before God the Father, and we are given the free gift of being seen as “one with him” through faith. So that is my reading of the Biblical answer to which religion is “correct”.

    God condemns man-made religions which try to replace his “free gift” through “human effort”. It’s like someone offering you a BMW for free but you dont want it, cos you saw a really expensive broken tricycle. or something. hehe

    Hope that helps 🙂
    God bless,
    Diana

  3. 3 solelyshe November 4, 2006 at 2:18 am

    diana:

    That DO help me very much.

    Thank you 😀

    Tingting Rimart:

    It do save, and please do preach 😉

  4. 4 jamie riley November 4, 2006 at 7:14 am

    Solelyshe,
    I think it’s awesome that you’re searching, and honest about it. I would like to encourage you to try to read some specific books of the Bible instead of just randomly opening it and reading.

    I think the best place to start is the book of Mark — it’s in the New Testament — I’m sorry if you already know that — and it’s the story of Jesus’ life while on earth.

    The reason you want to know Jesus is that he says he is “The Way, The Truth, and The Life,” and that “no one comes to the Father execpt by the Son.”

    I think that sometimes religion gets in the way of finding Jesus, but by the same token, you read in the Word of God that attending the assembling of God’s people (Church) is of upmost importance.

    Sorry for being too preachy…

  5. 5 seneca November 6, 2006 at 12:51 am

    If you’re reading the Bible, you’re reading Hebrew Scripture, which implies the choice of Judaism as one’s religion, and the Gospels and writings of those who follow Christ, like St. Paul, which imply the choice of Christianity as one’s religion.

    Early in the Fourth Century, St. Augustine merged ancient Greek philosophy with the teachings of the Bible to give us the beauty of Christianity today. Christianity continued through history to be modifed by great thinkers.

    Ever wonder why religions seem to have similar codes of conduct?

    Religion seems to be broken into two components; namely, God and the wonder of it all, and ethics, how one should conduct one’s life.

    The “God” part does vary widely by culture. Does God depend on where you’re born and whom your parents are?

    The ethics part varies little by culture.

    Cultural evolutionists believe that ethics improve our ability to reproduce. It’s all about Darwin and evolution. Ethically-driven cultures are better at lasting for centuries and producing more offspring than non-ethically driven cultures. Ethics, the right way of living, is wired into us by millions of years of evolution.

    You and I are “good” not because of religion, but because it’s the right way to live, and efficient in an evolutionary sense.

    Mike Seneca

  6. 6 solelyshe November 6, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    jamie riley,

    I actually have a couple of books given to me by the parish when I became a born again Christian. However as my life is today, without going into specifics I can’t. But thank you for the encouragement (which I can’t recieve).

    “I think that sometimes religion gets in the way of finding Jesus” I truely agree with you there.

    seneca,

    Thank you. Nice information there.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Hi and welcome. This is my journal where I can find a peace of mind. Perhaps teach myself something. I escape here to unwind, cry or complain, or share my joy. Hope you enjoy your stay.

The current mood of mixedpearl at www.imood.com

She

A 27 year old womans attempt to understand herself and the rest of the world. Difficult to explain myself with only a few words, you decide from the words in my journal. I suppose I am trying to find my strength through this so I think I am a bit confused, I'm quite emotional and very loving though I at times may seem very cold.

Additional Info

A rather new blog but not a new blogger. From Swedish decent, this blog will contain both languages.
November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Keep my net clean.org

map

Donate

Blog Stats

  • 176,682 hits

©opyright Information

Most photos and poetry may not be copied. If you are unsure please do ask me before redistributing.

